Quarterly Update: Un-fucking Myself

In December, i set forth to un-fuck a few aspects of my life.  Nothing huge, just a few necessary course corrections.  It’s going well…

Finger Un-fucking:  After a referral by my general practitioner to a hand surgeon, i was dreading the complications of a surgical “slice and dice”.  Fortunately, this particular surgeon is not a meat cowboy, and wisely prescribed a bit of physical therapy.  Not ruptured tendons, but shredded ligaments.  The resulting scar tissue was keeping my finger curled up like a claw.  Three weeks of PT, and significant improvements had been achieved by mid-February. i continue to sleep in a splint, do my finger exercises, and occasionally wear the spring-loaded torture device prescribed by my therapist.  95% recovered, without spilling blood. Although i will continue therapy on my own,  i consider my finger officially un-fucked.

Check!

Space Un-fucking: January saw me tearing through boxes in the garage and storage room.  Many of them full of shrapnel moved into the new place in 2008 by my daughter – she had been preparing for her studies in Beirut as we prepared to move from our previous home.  This led to many boxes of “un-sorted shit”.  Much of that shit has now been sorted.  The trash disposed of, treasures re-packed and safely stored – and dozens of bags and boxes taken to the local thrift store for recycling.  Not only tackling her stuff, i got through much of my own.  Two Jeep-loads* cleared in January.  February and March have been full of entertaining distractions, but i plan to get back to this in April.  My goal is at least one Jeep-load per month removed from my home – trash, or thrift store, i will continue to reduce my footprint in the homestead.

Progress?  Check!  An on-going battle, though…

Body Un-fucking:  It hasn’t been fun, but it’s working.  As of this morning, down 15 pounds since the end of December.  Picked up a regular gym habit, wearing (and using) my fitbit for accountability, and making changes in my food habits – to include portion control, calorie counting, and ‘just saying no’ to the things that will slow down progress.  i feel better, have more energy, and have noticed looser clothing.  Granted, this is my ‘fat’ wardrobe, but being able to take off a pair of jeans without unbuttoning them feels good – especially when they were a bit snug a few months ago.

Having Studley as my ‘accountability buddy’ has been essential — he’s down 35 pounds, and has already approached his goal for the year.  i am both delighted and annoyed by this… He promises to remain my accountability buddy, and workout buddy.

Hmmm…. i guess that makes him my “un-fuck” buddy…

Whatever…

So there’s the score card for the first three months.  Not bad.  There’s another thing that’s been dogging me that i’m going to add for the upcoming quarter.  A project that stalled due to a vexing technical challenge – the holidays got in the way, too.

A year ago, i tackled a ridiculous project.  Tearing down a broken upright piano at the theater, i carted it home piece by piece, and re-assembled it in my basement.  It is going to become something else – a Frankenstein piece for my party palace.  When i hit a serious hurdle in November, i parked the project, with hopes of getting back to it in January.

But i didn’t.

So now, i shall un-fuck my MacGyver project, and get back to work. Leaving such things unfinished is simply not how i like to roll.

gutted piano

There will be another quarterly update at the end of June.  It is my intention to have hauled at least three more Jeep-loads of ‘stuff’ out of my home.  It is my intention to be at least 15 pounds lighter than i am today.  It is my intention to have overcome my technical roadblock, and be well on my way to completing the piano conversion.

———-

* “Jeep-load” is an acceptable volumetric unit of measure in these parts.  For conversion purposes, “10 Jeep-loads” = “1 Shit-load”.

 

 

31 thoughts on “Quarterly Update: Un-fucking Myself

    • for me the key to maintaining motivation is setting some shorter-term, measurable goals. nothing really impossible ahead of me… and getting my head around the long-term nature of the quest for fitness. i’m planning some retirement activities that are going to require a degree of fitness i’ve never actually achieved – hiking, at altitude. best to start now!

  1. …both delighted and annoyed…is all I’ve ever aspired to in life. -35 pounds is a lot! I wonder if I’d even recognize him? Probably not, as we only met that one time. Glad to hear that everything is progressing according to schedule.

    So quarterly updates are all we can expect at this point? Four posts per year?!

    • i really am happy for him! he looks the same, just a little smaller! imagine my frustration, though – we are working out side-by-side. we both track calories in vs out. he has been very nearly wasting away, compared to my moderate weight loss. god damn testosterone!

      i’ve been managing to post some drivel every couple of weeks. that’s more likely my pace for the near future. life is just really good right now. balanced and full of many joys and much contentment. not the stuff of great blog fodder…. i may dredge the memory banks and see if there is some ancient history to revisit. or not.

  2. WOW! Fantastic unfucking!
    I am nowhere near any of my unfucking goals.
    Oh wait, the downstairs bathroom has been torn down to the studs and completely unfucked.

    So it’s shit-load? How many is shit-son? Fuck-ton?
    Is that metric or Imperial?
    I suck at math, so I need to ask these things from a professional.
    However, I AM a whiz at pouring a solid 2 oz shot with my eyes closed.

    • tearing apart an entire bathroom is a pretty significant amount of un-fuckage! i was actually going to add the conversions for metric and imperial units, but got de-railed by something shiny! And you can NEVER underestimate the value of being able to pour liquor blindfolded! kinky, girlfriend. definitely kinky…

  3. Your unfuckery is truly awesome.
    And (a tiny bit) inspirational.
    I hear you on being irritated at Studley’s weight loss though – the smaller portion ‘thinks thin’ and loses weight. Which has put him close to death often.

    • Thank you, dear lady! Hoping that the smaller portion is maintaining the weight he needs… sure wish i could offer up some of my excess to him! we’d probably both be better for it.

  4. I wonder if I could borrow Studley for a few poundsworth…Like EC, I live with a stick insect.He’s lovely, but depressing to watch at mealtimes.
    Over here, being metrificated, I operate on one Sherman = i jeepload(approx) Sherman is my name for my Camry wagon. Man! I bet we could have some doozy downhils when loaded!

    • It is frustrating… if i had more muscle mass, i’d burn more calories per minute of activity. Suppose i need to get a bit more serious about the weights i’ve been tossing around.

      Those Camry wagons can hold quite a lot of stuff! The advantage i have with the jeep is that i am relatively unconstrained in the vertical axis – i can pile stuff on pretty high – have even resorted to bungee cords to hold it in place on occasion.

      • Men are so damned frustrating. I remember one time a while ago when Jim decided he needed to drop some weight. so he cut out a couple of beers a day and Bam! He dropped about 15 pounds. Like you said above: Godamned testosterone.

        • He’s only got 15 pounds to hit his goal — which will be 50 pounds vaporized. i’ve got almost 50 pounds to go… again, taking the slow and steady route, with vastly changed habits along the way is the only way to do this. i was afraid he would want to bail on the exercise, but he shares the goal of being ‘fit’, rather than just losing weight…

  5. Being inspired by your need to unfuck yourself I managed to get rid of 6 or so items by donating them to the band garage sale. That was huge, actually…. but not two jeep loads…

    Your finger needs some NMR work, I think. You could probably get it back to almost 100% with some of that. I should come to Dayton and do that, you know.

    • The physical therapist i was seeing was delightful – she had this cheery disposition, while being determinedly sadistic as she pushed me to work the finger. She showed me some massage techniques, and has me warming the finger up before i do any serious work with it… suspect i could benefit from professional help!

        • she was a gem – when she told me i had graduated, we were both a little sad. as she worked on my finger, and showed me more exercises, we’d chat about life, the universe, and everything. i had her convinced to plan a hiking vacation with her husband and children by the end of our sessions. i’m wondering how the planning is going…

  6. When you are finished un-fucking your place, can you come and help me with mine? I’m still living in bedbug mode, although they’ve officially been gone six months. They’ll send help for you to pack, but not unpack. The um… Lovely man that helped me pack put the heavy things at the top.
    In other news, I’ve lost as much weight as you and Studly combined. It was not intentional, my doctor calls it the “grief diet.” Of course on me it looks like a five pound loss on you.

    • i need to figure out how to get out there, help you get unpacked and organized, and take you out for some of that amazing Seattle food stuff! My approach to un-fucking the space has been just to do a small spot at a time. it’s less overwhelming that way. And although the weight loss can be a good thing, you still need to eat, sister! Hoping that Spring brings back some appetite…

  7. You inspire me. And tire me. The call of inertia is strong lately, but I my shoulder (which fucked itself without me even being aware) is refusing to be ignored, and the itch to attack my space is growing. I’ve started at work, where we still haven’t unpacked from our move last fall. If that works out, I will try spinning two dishes at once.

    • turns out, i’ve tired me, too…. one month in to 2Q14, and i’m lagging on the unfuckage of space. haven’t tackled the ignored recycling project, either. working hard at the weight loss/exercise, though…. and fucking off. i might lower expectations for 3Q14 to just sticking a wet spoon to my forehead…

        • why do i feel like writing a song with those lyrics? ‘goal modification’ and ‘rationalization’ have been my most important survival skills… that, and being able to sleep on airplanes.

  8. It is taking you a little bit more than 10 seconds, but well done.

    In the same period I unfortunately regressed to the state of “totally f****d up and worse than ever before” (forgive the stars, I’m a shy man-boy) to slowly, slowly, slowly almost back to “just a little bit more f****d up than 3 months ago”. And I DO blame the universe actually. F**k it. But does seem to be getting itself straightened out for me again.

Leave a Reply

