They go round and round…

My first reaction was mild irritation.  Why couldn’t i have cleared the oncoming school bus before the red flashing lights came on, forcing me to stop?  Since i was returning to the office following a mid-afternoon appointment, i decided I wasn’t really in a hurry, and went back to sorting the ‘to-do’ list in my head.
 
An older man stood patiently at the end of the driveway, waiting for the bus to dispatch a child.  Slightly rounded of spine, he was maybe in his mid- to late-sixties.  i looked again to see if it was a “special needs” bus for disabled students – wondering just how long i’d be sitting there if the wheelchair ramp had to deploy.  Relieved as the emerging child bounded down the bus steps.  He was a gangly thing, somewhere around 10 years old.
 
My irritation was soon replaced  by amusement.
 
As soon as the boy hopped from the last step, the old man turned and sprinted toward the front door – a foot race!  The kid went full out, cutting Grandpa no slack.  But Grandpa showed game, using his height advantage and stretching to full stride.  They were neck-and-neck, as the bus pulled away from the curb, blocking my view of the finish line.  i rolled onwards. 
 
For the remainder of the drive, my ‘to-do’ list was nowhere to be found – replaced by a flood of memories. 
 
The way it felt to step off the bus on a sunny spring day and race down a driveway that seemed to be miles long.  Watching my son and his friends execute games with complex rules only they understood in little-boy war games.  Putzing around the house, seeing my daughter spend hours at her “art table”, humming tunes to herself as she made magic with glitter, glue and odd piles of colored paper.  In the backyard, my Dad patiently teaching me how to throw a football in a perfect spiral.  The endless feel of a summer afternoon, floating on a raft in Lake Erie while my son tried out his new swim gear – perfecting the art of blowing snorkel-water on his old lady.  Squeals from the family room at midnight, as my daughter and her friends giggled their way through a sleep-over party.
 
Memories of my childhood.  Memories of their childhood.  Swirled together – the same way i still mush up my cake and ice cream at birthday parties.
 
Simply from a glimpse into the daily ritual of a man and his grandson…  i was uncharacteristically cheerful all afternoon.

33 thoughts on “They go round and round…

  1. I’ve always said the best thing about kids is they remind you of all the joy and wonder of the world, the joy and wonder that gets beaten out of us as adults and then we hang with the little shits and realize the world is a neat place, it also reminds of us of our own childhoods that we somehow seem to forget in the rat race of being a “grown-up”, good shit Daisy.

  2. What a lovely gift. One of the amusements of working on campus is occasionally seeing one of the young adults betray their lingering childhood. Bicycles are often involved.

  3. Isn’t it something what makes us slow down and smile? What makes us remember all that is good and right? Maybe I should stop rushing to beat the buses out of the school parking lot and just follow one home someday.

  4. Lake Erie eh?
    Which end of the lake?
    I’m closer to the top … Buffalo area.

    I love memories like that.
    And even more so when brought on by something so sweet and amazing in it’s own right.

  5. it’s good to know that those ‘simpler times’ still exist, even if we don’t experience them ourselves. that means we still can, at some point. i have hope…and good memories of my little ones.

  6. nicole – i had a great childhood, despite the weird stuff that came later. feels good to let it all come back…

    tysdaddy – it’s funny, but i thought of you and your family as i was writing this… i hope my kids have similar moments of reflection. THAT makes a successful parent…

    rob – you have uncovered the paradox of the trailer park refugee: i can write about hanging out in strip clubs one day, then turn around and hoark up this glurge shit in a heartbeat. in case you haven’t been paying attention, i’m a pretty fucked up mess…

    kono – yes, yes, yes, yes, YES, oh, GOD! yes, yesyesyesYESYESYES! [off to smoke a cigarette]

    chris – there are purple streamers on the handlegrips of my road bike for a reason. it makes the kids smile, and the aged kids remember… plus, it makes me look wicked badass cool…

    arynsmom – the “to do” list takes up a lot of space in the head. smooshes the memories, i think. i’m considering another driveby around the same time of day just to see it again!

    blazngscarlet – western end. we bought a vacation home near sandusky… many summers spent farting around in the lake, going to cedar point every weekend, and watching movies until our eyeballs fell out of our heads…

    gnukid – i wanted to hug that kid so hard. he was just a bit too old to be doing that… fifth graders don’t still play with Grandpa! and with people on the bus, who could SEE him? amazing…

  7. My buddhist therapist would be proud at how the stuck behind the bus dilemma turned so swiftly into a moment of beauty and observation – it was a lovely moment you captured there!

  8. Why do you suppose they call the lake eerie? Oh. Excuse me. Erie.

    I have no memory of my childhood. It’s a massive blank. But I DO enjoy watching The Daughters work their way through kiddome. And unlike when I was young, their every move is well documented on film and digitally.

  9. rubytwoshoes – i want a Buddhist therapist! that might be just exactly what i need! become one with the couch…

    kyknoord – or laser babies. i really want a hood mounted laser baby. maybe for my birthday…

    jon – ten years old is about the time parents (and grandparents) become very dull and embarassing… that’s why i love that kid on the bus. i think i want to bring him a medal or something…

    nursemyra – they seem to be related to my fucking hormones. i’m back to “stabby” today…

    unbearable banishment – there was this canal, ya see… before the rivers were catching fire, they used it for transportation. oh, forget it…
    the memories i have of my children ‘being kids’ and those of my own childhood are some of the best i’ve got… strangely enough, there aren’t many photos of either. and exactly zero video…

  10. I LOVE Cedar Point! Sandusky’s not so bad either.
    I can’t wait for my youngest to get just a wee bit older so I can take both my boys to Cedar Point.
    I am a roller coaster junkie! lol

  11. I had a moment like that yesterday when I drove past a elementary school and the rush of children’s laughter hit my ears. It sounded so fresh and springy.

    More often than not that sound would irritate the shit out of me, but I guess there was some sort cosmic ‘tolerant bubble’ over the northern hemisphere yesterday.

  12. okay, what have you done with daisyfae? the writing here is fantastic just like she writes but the content is somewhat out of her character, so peaceful and introspective. so sweet. this was a stellar post and i enjoyed it very much. ~whoever the heck you are! 🙂

  13. I really enjoyed reading this as one thing led to another.
    Good stuff, DF
    I also wanted to thank you for being so damn good to me regarding my blog.
    I just never seem to have time to get around.
    And look what I’m missing.
    Nice post.
    Rock on, gurly, gurl . . .
    M

  14. lora – that made me smile in return! funny how that works, innit?

    blazngscarlet – we had seasons passes for 3 years. the park was 15 minutes away. and we rode EVERY. STINKIN. COASTER. IN. THAT. PARK. a million times! it is the best… i, too, am a coaster junkie!

    carlae – mine is past. i’m ready to hit people with boards again… c’est la vie!

    stephanie – the grind (and unbalanced hormones) have knocked it out of me… but it was extended a bit by sharing the glurge!

    DP – not terrible. it’s the “to do” list. not the “who to do” list. that’s very different….

    lynn – every now and then i succumb to a compelling urge to hoark up drivel. it’s heartfelt, but it ALWAYS drives me crazy the next day that i wrote it and posted it. folks seem to enjoy it. honestly? it’s part of my conflicted nature – half-trailerpark, half-….. – well, half-somethingelse. but i’m glad you enjoyed it… i’m sure it’ll happen again!

    ~m – my interwebz time this summer is likely to be far less than it currently is, so i’ll be a consistent reader, but may not comment as much. and yes, that mr. noooooord is quite efficient with his words, isn’t he?

  15. wow daisy. So sentimental! I love it when something like an old guy in a race triggers a magical memory and sends you, if only temporarily, into the past. Enjoyed this.

  16. This is the great part about being a grandparent. You get to do all the fun stuff over again without all the responsibility for how the kids turn out. It is a brief window in time, though, as you noticed. You have to go for it while you can before puberty raises its ugly noggin and ruins everything. (And, “grandpa gets a heart attack” tag? Too funny….)

  17. Two nurturing posts in a row…the next one better be a classic tale of sin and debauchery, with a healthy does of old-fashioned iconoclasm to boot.

  18. if it weren’t for the Grandpa gets the heart attack tag, I would have thought, “What the hell kind of daisyfae post is this?”

    No Bourbon, no conventions in the MidWest, no cigarettes…

    I’m patient. I’m sure it’ll pass

    😉

  19. It’s hard to remember exactly when those innocent family times end and the harsh cynical years begin. Probably somewhere in puberty. The hormones start rushing and you hate everything.

  20. tammy – thanks. i have moments of sheer sentimental dork. that was one of them, but it felt really good…

    texastrailerparktrash – yep. i think i kinda knew it was transient with my own kids, but suspect it will be crystal clear should grandchildren ever enter my life… not in a hurry for that, mind you.

    unclekeith – feckin’ hormones. i’ve been toggling between ‘saptastic glurge whore’ and ‘psycho amazon warbitch from hell’ all week. sometimes within the same sentence. i’ll be fine. i hope.

    blaiser – it’s pretty much passed. at least this hour. fuck. people wonder why i have committment issues? i’m doing some poor bastard a great public service, the way i see it…

    renalfailure – it’s really hard to feel that way again. i’ve tried. there’s something that breaks inside us once we have to be responsible, after we bury a parent, once we have to pay bills on time, once other people depend upon us for things…. can’t get it back. unless it comes with dementia, and to that i say ‘bring it’…

Leave a Reply

