Hell Week Happy Ending

It’s been a gnarly week in the office. Returning Monday morning after five days of business travel, i was instantaneously inundated with three “on-fire” projects, and was on the hook to prepare a presentation for my trip next week.  All day, i was hopping as though there were electrodes under my arse, delivering rapid-fire e-mails and delegating project bits to minions team members.

My level of productivity – without panic* – was such that by mid-afternoon my Division Tech Director poked his head in my office to say “Damn, woman, you’re earning your salary today!”

daisyfae: So long as i only have to do it once a week or so? i’ll stick around…

Finishing up the presentation yesterday, it was shipped upward for “information” – to my Director. Given that it’s to a fairly high-level corporate audience, and given that he lives in mortal fear of “looking bad”, he asked me to visit him this afternoon and go over the presentation**. 

i sent an e-mail to let the entire tech team know that i’d be doing the informal flip-through with the big cheese. Immediate reply from my DivChief.

DivChief: I have complete faith in you!

daisyfae: I won’t wear my slippers. Or flash him.

DivChief: He’ll be disappointed.

daisyfae: Yeah. They’re pretty cool slippers…

They are Rocket J. Squirrel Slippers. And i can't find a pic...

* This is entirely due to my complete inability to give a shit. i keep trying. It isn’t happening.

** At 3:00pm on a FRIDAY?!?!? Totally cutting into my “i’m going to leave early because the sun is out” plan…

17 thoughts on “Hell Week Happy Ending

  1. I stopped working about 3 o’clock yesterday because I couldn’t be arsed any longer. BUT that does mean I have to work today with the kids around AND it’s a public holiday here. Public holiday on a Saturday. Which means that the shops and banks are closed on the one day of the week when people normally have time to go to them…

  2. I flashed a colleague at work the other day. Mind you, we flash each other all the time. One day it’s going to back fire. Badly. But ho hum. Keeps it interesting.

  3. kyknoord – no, but i’ll be live blogging next tuesday while giving the presentation to the high level corporate office…

    lynn – surprisingly, no. i’ve got my motorcycle cert class today and tomorrow. up at 0600 for two days of ‘riding the range’. no drinks for me last night 😦

    silverstar – i was just relieved it wasn’t a 4:00 meeting. he jacked things from his calendar to see the flip through, so i had no idea when it would be. it’s a rare occurrance that someone tracks what i do that closely. but his final words “i trust your judgment”. i’m good to go fuck it up now…

    Bb – i’m already known for my “on demand Tourette’s”. but if i were actually firing bullets? sweet…

    jon – public holiday? saturday? oh, wait… you’re in france. that’s just mean, though. suppose the shops and banks don’t open on sunday to make up for it…. ugh.

    syncopated eyeball – he busted me in my slippers on a surprise visit to our ‘trailer’ office complex about a month ago. i was scooting around, looking for something in the printer, and he walked in… i saluted, and kept walking. no major issue, but he realized that i’m a complete goofball…

    dolce – i could start doing that. i’m sure i’d get slapped with ‘hostile workforce complaints’ because my guys probably haven’t seen titties in decades…

    nursemyra – ouch. come to think of it, i don’t really want to start flashing. it might catch on. that could be bad. very, very bad…

  4. My old boss used to regularly schedule meetings for 4:30 on Friday. It’s one of the things that sent me back to higher education.

  5. The phrase I like using if rush work comes my way on a Friday afternoon is “If this was truly important, you would have gotten it to me earlier.” Then I say it will get taken care of on Monday. I don’t get that shit on Fridays anymore.

  6. chris – if it were a regular occurrance? i’d raise hell. once in a blue moon, i can tolerate. but, if my ‘minions’ try to do something either before 1000 on a monday or after 1400 on a friday? i resist…

    renal failure – you have trained them well. if only you could train them to not bring you work at all… at least on mondays and fridays…

    FJ – mine is like a machine gun! and you should see it type!

    rubytwoshoes – the meeting for the major presentation is at a conference center somewhere on the chesapeake bay. once i’m done? there’s a bit of ‘farting around’ in my future. hope the sun is shining….

Leave a Reply

