The Morning After

 i have delicious friends.  i also have an issue at the moment with a gentle pounding in my brain.  tequila.  it was dinner.  happy birthday to me.  ow… 

Was very surprised last week when some family photos appeared in Facebook-world.  Many photos i’d never seen before.  Over the weekend, a cousin began the tedious process of scanning in photos from her mother’s photo albums.  And there we were…  Nice way to celebrate my 47th birthday.  Well, posting photos is easier than writing while still ensconced in a tequila-induced hangover cloud…

Shhhh…. please read quietly.  ow…

that is either a flaw in the photograph, or i was tethered to the ceiling by a small rope through my nose.  either is possible...

that is either a flaw in the photograph, or i was tethered to the ceiling by a small rope through my nose. either is possible...

 
 
 L-R: Sister T, Dad, Sister S, Brother T, daisyfae sporting a turd-filled diaper, Mom

L-R: Sister T, Dad, Sister S, Brother T, daisyfae sporting a turd-filled diaper, Mom

 

Family Pouting Contest, 1967.  My brother lost.  i earned bonus points for sweating profusely.  That's me in the orange...

Family Pouting Contest, 1967. My brother lost. i earned bonus points for sweating profusely. That's me in the orange...

 

i'm going to grow up to be a twisted, cold-hearted woman, writing trash about my family.  mom knocked out my teeth.  wanna buy my gerbil? 

i'm going to grow up to be a twisted, cold-hearted woman, writing trash about my family. mom knocked out my teeth. wanna buy my gerbil?

24 thoughts on “The Morning After

  1. 1. tequila is an acceptable dinner, just like sour jelly bellys are an acceptable breakfast

    2. happy friggin’ birthday! sounds like you enjoyed it

    3. facebook is a continuous surprise with regard to the things that seem to crop up there

  2. Look at how cute you are. You haven’t changed a bit.
    Happy Belated Birthday. (so that was all the noise)
    My friends have enough sense to ask me before they post my pic on facebook. I think I had a dress like the last one. Might be one of my school pics.

  3. Ha. Awesome. I love the Bikram Photography portrait. Someone! Get some water for these people! And the dots on that red number you wore on in the last one? It’s like a Magic Eye puzzle – wait for it…oh! It’s a cat, right?
    Ok I’m done.

  4. stephanie – thank you for keeping the noise down. and managing not to bounce… much appreciated! (ow…)

    daisy mae – sour jelly bellies are good round the clock, holiday, birthday or any day… tequila-jelly bellies? hmmm…

    hisqueen – thanks! i was the messy kid, no ribbon remained tied, no article of clothing was un-stained, and generally i needed a maternal “spit bath” prior to most photographs, as there was always something stuck to my face, head or hands… nickname: pigpen.

    paisley – i was mostly tickled to see photos that i’d never seen before! it was a delightful surprise!

    rassles – Shhhhhhh…… it still hurts. feel like i’ve been skull-fucked by a bull elephant…

    DP – don’t let that sweet little face fool you. i was the henchman of a pack of neighborhood thugs. i did the really dirty jobs… wedgies and the like…

    jimmy – [swoon]

    mstngsal – that’s an old photo. pre-dates air conditioning apparently… mom dressed me in dark clothing for school pictures because of my tendency to become covered with grime within seconds of donning light-colored clothing. pigpen. that’d be me….

  5. “that is either a flaw in the photograph, or i was tethered to the ceiling by a small rope through my nose. either is possible…”
    Laughed my proverbial ass off at that one, DF
    :mrgreen:
    Cool post.
    Tequila!
    ~m

  6. The first baby pic looks very much like mine. Id post it the the size of my baby fat thighs would scare most people.

  7. I adore that last photo! Didn’t realise it was your birthday sweet thing. Many many happy returns. This time next year we’ll be celebrating it in Tuscany, no?

  8. archie – so long as i keep it to three shots or less, i’m fine. no punches are thrown, no clothing removed and no checks with insufficient funds are written… and i kept it to just three.

    michael – always happy to make you laugh! thanks for stopping by!

    nicole – thank you! thanks for dropping in!

    unbearable banishment – thanks. i sometimes wonder if the reason my heart is in lock down is because i’ll never believe anyone can know me and still love me… as he did.

    stacy – welcome! i wonder if the size of baby thighs is an indicator of future cellulite potential? i’d almost take those ol’ baby “chub chubs” over the orange peel i’m cursed with on the back of my current tree trunks…

    alex – at least for the next few years. check in again when i’m “Gimcrack” aged…

    silverstar – thank you. much appreciated. this morning i seem to have become rehydrated. it was a sprint on the bike after work yesterday that caused the hurt today!

    nursemyra – oh, yeah. if not early june, we’ll be able to celebrate under the magical tuscan sun sometime next summer! yippee!

  9. ginny – we didn’t have money. it was probably a recycled feminine napkin (cloth, re-usable kind…)

    tNb – always irritates me (still) that i was 2 years YOUNGER than my sister, T, yet have always been LARGER than she is. we passed ourselves off as twins from time to time…

    Bb – Good thing i kept it to just three shots of tequila that night. i might have needed refresher training on the diaper thing as well…

    uncle keith – low miles, recent body work. i’ve even got the Gerbil-Fax on it…

  10. Neat pics! That second family photo kind of looks like one of those “Olan Mills” gems. 8) You and sister T almost look like twins.

    My defining “ta-kill-ya” moment happened many many years ago. We had hosted a house warming party and I had “had too much” and was sent to bed early. After the to-be-Mrs ushered out the last guest (and fending off an offer of sex) she came into bed and shook me awake. I rolled over, revealing no fewer than three puddles of puke underneath me. Needless to say, she slept on the couch that night.

Leave a Reply

